top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Best In Beauty 2017

Hey all!

2018 is now here, but I just wanted to give a quick thanks to the year we just left behind ...

2017, you rocked. I swear to God, best year of my life. I was able to travel more than I ever have (Poland, Costa Rica, The Big Island in Hawai'i, and Napa Valley being my favorites). I went social media FREE for the entirety of the summer. I spent my 5th and last year at sleepaway camp & became closer with the lake I call home. And most importantly, I'd let myself suffer this year, before finally finding the kind of happiness I had never allowed myself to have. And life has never been better.

However, I have seen many posts going around the internet; a controversy that it is ignorant and insensitive to say that 2017 was kind to people. The terrorism tragedies, election drama, and global tension was astonishing (and we can only hope the vertex point will soon be reached before a relieving decline of modern violence). However, there will and have been tragedies no matter the year; this is nothing new. What's new is the sudden increase in violence recently, relative to modern times. Relative to our history in the past 100 years (or longer), violence and overall tolerance between different peoples and cultures has improved tremendously. Our only way to get past difficulties out of our control is to stay optimistic but wary, informed but not overwhelmed.

Just wanted to clarify that before getting into the actual post ... Which, surprisingly, is rather lighthearted.

Ladies & gents, I now present to you:

My favorite beauty finds of 2017!

Below, we will discuss products excellent for travel or everyday use, ranging everywhere & anywhere from your head to your toes. (Thank you, thank you!)

#1 TRADER JOE'S HEAD-TO-TOE MOISTURIZING BALM

This stuff is so well-rounded, for a lack of a better word. It's a solid, waxy substance and very compact (A.K.A perfect for all of your traveling needs). Initially, it's a little difficult to get a substantial amount of product out of the container (due to a hardened film that keeps it new). However, a couple of uses will easily soften it up. It's moisturizing effects are quite lasting, with a subtle but fresh scent. In the dry winter months, I use it in my hair, hands, lips, and on my eyelashes (supposedly, you can even use it to tame "flyaway beard!).

($4)

#2 TRADER JOE'S FACIAL CLEANSING OIL

I've just really been into the affordability of Trader Joe's lately, so kudos to them! But for a little while I'd been searching for a makeup remover that does not require waste of towelettes/cotton pads (why not skip a step while aiding Mother Earth, am I right?). Anyways, the search is over & here she is! So easy - with a dry face, pump twice and massage this into your skin with your fingers. Wash away and voila! Your makeup is removed. I also love how it contains both Argan and Coconut oils for natural removal.

($7.99)

#3 TOO FACED CANDLELIGHT GLOW POWDER

Perhaps my most favorite highlighter of all time. I love the fine texture of this powder, as well as the gold undertones. I chose the shade "Warm Glow", which somehow gives me a bit of a natural tan, minus the orange-y bronzer. I'm surprised at how underrated this product is, and while it's a little pricy for some, I think it's worth the cash.

($30)

#4 BUXOM LIP CREAM

An all-time favorite for me, two winters & counting. My lips are definitely my most prominent feature, so I try to highlight them as naturally as possible. This shade in "Hot Toddy" does that perfectly, a little extra contrast to my given lip color, I love how it offers a ton of product, as well as the tingly mint sensation my pout gets after application. If I were to leave the house with just ONE product, she's the one!

($20)

#5 THE BODY SHOP HEMP HEAVY-DUTY BODY MOISTURE PROTECTOR

My hands and legs get very dry during the winter, and because New England keeps winter around for half the year, this is a must. It claims to be able to lock in moisture for multiple days, but I just apply at night after I shower and it seems to do the trick overnight. The hemp seed oil contains Omega Fatty Acids, and I honestly don't think we can get enough of those! Super thick and creamy, I love it.

($20)

#6 SHEA MOISTURE PROBLEM SKIN MOISTURIZER

I know, another lotion. But this is for your face! Especially for gals with oily/combination skin! (Which, I feel, is hard to find.) But look no further, this moisturizer is absolutely fabulous. It mattifies your skin with a thick, creamy layer that, in addition, hits all of those dry patches. I've never really liked moisturizer before this one, as I feared that by applying it over my acne, it'd clog the pores further with its greasy residue. However, this one contains tea tree oil, a natural acne-fighting ingredient in order to save us the guilt! Reasonably affordable too.

($12.99)

#7 Becca Après Ski Glow Face Palette

This palette is limited edition on the Becca, Sephora, and Ulta websites, but I just had to include it in the list. I haven't tried many Becca products, albeit "Champagne Pop" (similar to a majority I think). However, this palette gave me a further taste of Becca's intense quality and care going into their makeup. There are three highlights, two blushes, and one bronzer ... I don't think there's a single product in here that I don't use (Yes, even the icy blue-toned highlight gets her days in the spotlight!). The berry-pink blush has a beautiful satin finish, likely making it my favorite int the palette. I haven't personally tried the eyeshadows in the Après Ski line, but I did gift them to my best friend for a Christmas gift, as she recently came to visit the U.S. from Poland. Her eyes are truly beautiful, and I've heard good things from her on how those shimmery shadows do the perfect wintery trick for a beginner look.

($46)

Wow, I had a lot to say. Thanks to those of you who actually had the patience or curiosity to read this far! Tune in next time for more Nina-struggles-to-be-a-beauty-guru magic. Good luck in 2018 loves!!!

Buh bye xx


bottom of page